We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

Is the Nobel Prize’s Gender Gap Narrowing?

Updated May 17, 2024
Our promise to you
WiseGeek is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At WiseGeek, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

There's nothing noble about gender discrimination, but that's not necessarily a charge you can levy against the Nobel Prize, despite the fact that only 58 women have ever won one, as of 2021.

While things have improved, women have historically occupied far fewer positions than men in academia, which is where most Nobel winners can be found, so it might seem logical that they have won fewer awards. Nevertheless, since the awards were first handed out in 1901, women haven't even accounted for three percent of winners in the science categories. In 2021, none of the science laureates were women; Peace Prize co-recipient Maria Ressa was the only female laureate this year.

In a study published in 2021, it was determined that women are far less likely to win major science awards, regardless of the quality or quantity of their research. Perhaps even more disturbing is the fact that only 16 African Americans have ever won a Nobel Prize, and no African American has ever won a Nobel in a science category.

Nobel novelties:

  • Marie Curie is the only woman to have won two Nobel Prizes, earning one in Physics in 1903 and one in Chemistry in 1911.

  • All of the Nobel Prizes are handed out from Stockholm, Sweden, except the Peace Prize, which comes from Oslo, Norway.

  • Three Nobel Peace Prize winners (Carl von Ossietzky, Aung San Suu Kyi, and Liu Xiaobo) were incarcerated when they were chosen as laureates.

WiseGeek is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.